About Creative Influences

Every work of art is a congolmeration of influences. Today, I’d like to take time to tell you mine.

Every work of art is a congolmeration of influences, a Katamari of sorts (Google it if you don’t get that reference) of what has impacted the artist. Each writer or artist has many influences. Today, I’d like to take time to tell you mine.

When it comes to what influenced me to start drawing, there’s one show that immediately comes to mind— Batman Beyond.I discovered this show late at night on The Hub (does that channel still exist?) while I was flipping channels in 2014-ish. The art style was dark and cool, the writing was on-point, and the characters were well-developed. I. WAS. HOOKED.

Luckily, the show was on Netflix at the time. I watched the whole thing, and from then on, I knew I wanted to be in the art industry. Batman Beyond was my artistic genesis. It put me on my current path. 2014 was the beginning of my artistic life, as was evidenced by the next piece I credit with my artistic genesis: Guardians of the Galaxy.

img_5054

Guardians of the Galaxy was an unexpected addition to my life. I didn’t even know it existed until the day we went to go see it, but I loved it all the same. The characters were amazing in that movie, especially Rocket and Groot. I found myself drawing those two, and it really propelled me forward. The art I produced was nothing special, but here’s a sample:

img_5063

 

Author: spencerray

I'm a teenage artist that aims to use my God-given talents for the good of his kingdom. I'm also a big fan of comics books and animation.

Leave a Reply

